Lostpedia has arranged a string of interviews with characters from The Lost Experience. Follow the links to submit your questions for Speaker, The Lost Ninja and Javier Grillo-Marxuach!
Do you have an idea for a new wiki? Please share it with us here

Talk:Paik Heavy Industries

From Lostpedia

Jump to: navigation, search

I'm afraid that Paik might be the Korean equivalent of Smith in English. Paik.org looks like somebodies real-life business... --Beardog4314 15:26, 10 May 2006 (PDT)

From what I recall, the name "Paik" is just a local variation of "Park", which is something like the second most common name in Korea (after Kim). Googling this kind of stuff makes no sense. --PandoraX 15:20, 3 June 2006 (PDT)

Every person on their staff is a member of a race rainbow-seems a little sculpted.

Contents

The Paik Medicine

The M.Ds on www.paik.org are real, this site is most likely a genuine page and not part of the lost mythos. --skks 00:29, 11 May 2006 (PDT)

http://www.paik-heavy.com/

Paik Heavy Industries seems to have a homepage, although it's somewhat empty.

http://www.paik-heavy.com/

On the site can be found two links. One is "hidden", basically it's just a linked white picture just above the visible link.

The visible link leads to a new site, and I will leave that for now. But the hidden link leads to a page with the message:

Sorry it didn't work out, it was a group try. If you see an oval rash you must deal with it immediately. Or at least check the source.

There wasn't much we could do about the open sphere. She was on a phone spree and we had to get out of there.

104 116 116 112 58 47 47 119 119 119 46 112 97 105 107 45 104 101 97 118 121 46 99 111 109 47 110 97 109 97 115 116 101 46 104 116 109


The numbers is in ASCII and translates to http://www.paik-heavy.com/namaste.htm

Here comes the message:

Previous list compromised. Previous list compromised.

Urgent message

Assistance needed

And the last row here is a link off-site. This pages asks for help. It wants a mail and a first name.


Take a look at the sourcecode of the site (hidden link):
You will notice some parts of the text are enclosed between 2 empty HTML-comments <!-- -->
I marked (bold) them in the above copy of the text.
So these parts are special:
So, the text reads like this:
Sorry it didn't work out, it was Gary Troup. If you see Alvar Hanso you must deal with it immediately. Or at least check the source.
There wasn't much we could do about the Persephone. She was on a Persephone and we had to get out of there.
Porter 06:28, 14 May 2006 (PDT)

OT: I wish I could go on, but typing this up as I go and I have to leave now... More will come if noone else is faster. ;)


Doesn't look very authentic. There are ads on "peter thompson"'s blog pages. --skks 05:03, 14 May 2006 (PDT)

  • Whois info indicates that it's definitely fanmade.[1] EntChickie 05:09, 20 May 2006 (PDT)
  • This is definitely a fake site. Can we just delete all the crap relating to it? It just seems ridiculous to have to include all of the paik-heavy.com information on the wiki, and then double that up with all the disclaimers that it's a fake site.--Bernini 07:13, 22 May 2006 (PDT)

use caution...

I made a big mistake (I hope I caught it in time) I did NOT realize that the paik-heavy.com website was not part of this game. In exploring I found a link to an ebay auction. I signed into ebay and made a bid on the item. It was not enough. BUT I signed in from the link on the paik-heavy website. So I HOPE they were not able to capture my ebay identity. I've since gone into ebay and changed all my settings so I hope I caught it in time. I'm glad I found this site to let me know that paik-heavy.com is NOT part of the game. I should have been more cautious, and I hope this message warns others to not fall for the same thing I just did. ugh.

You're fine... it's a simple redirect to an ebay auction. Looks like an online charity (www.namaste-direct.org) is using paik-heavy.com to redirect people to bid on copies of Bad Twin on eBay with 10% of the final bid going to the charity through the MissionFish program. The signin page you went to is still eBay's secure https login page. It's a bit dishonest in my opinion for them to be piggybacking the Lost Experience like this... even if it is for charity, but your eBay user & personal info should be safe.--Isotope23 12:42, 24 May 2006 (PDT)

is http://www.paikheavyindustry.com/ part of the game? if so it has hidden content on it (looks like the charset is korean:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta content="text/html; charset=EUC-KR" http-equiv="content-type">
<title>PHI</title>
</head>
<body style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255); color: rgb(0, 0, 0);" alink="#ee0000" link="#0000ee" vlink="#551a8b">
PHI
OP:  hold
SLP:  continue
ZP:  continue

최후
</body> </html>
text in the space is white so you will have to select it

--Gordon Werner 11:02, 28 May 2006 (PDT)


Fake?

Seems to be that a few people have said this is a fake website. Maybe we should post an out-of-game marker at the top of the page? --Jujo 09:05, 31 May 2006 (PDT)

  • went ahead and took care of it, after I found this on a list of fake websites--Jujo 09:32, 31 May 2006 (PDT)

The "slow air demo" link on the paik website now takes you to a page describing a hoax. HansoCurious 15:03, 3 June 2006 (PDT)


Merge

See Talk:Paik Automotive --Nickb123 (Talk) 12:36, 27 April 2007 (PDT)